In August of 2004, the RITM TB Study Group (TBSG) was reorganized with Dr. Noel G. Macalalad as the Head with Dr. Socorro P. Lupisan, Dr. Jaime C. Montoya, Dr. Lita Vizconde, Dr. Rodrigo Romulo, Dr. Agnes Barrientos, Ms. Gloria Reclusado and Ms. Lydia Sombrero as technical group members. The impetus aim of the Group was to initiate studies that could help understand, control and prevent multi-drug resistant tuberculosis and to improve the diagnosis of pulmonary and extra-pulmonary tuberculosis. Dr. Montoya originally lead the Group.

Over the years, significant changes have transpired. Recently, TBSG was reconstituted with Dr. Ama as the Head. The group’s overall purpose is to serve as lead group for the conduct of basic diagnostic, operational, and clinical researches related to TB and the development of TB Research Agenda with emphasis on innovations particularly in genome sequencing technologies and nanotechnology.


Research Program Leader: Dr. Ma. Cecilia G. Ama
Research Core Group:
Dr. Virginia Aguilas
RITM TB DOTS Clinic (Head)
Dr. Ramon Basilio
National TB Reference Laboratory (Deputy Head)
Dr. Rosario Z. Capeding-
Department of Microbiology (Head)
Mr. Ryan Castro, RMT
Training and Development Unit (Head) , NTRL
Dr. Mari Rose A. Delos Reyes
Medical Department (Head)
Dr. Rossana Ditangco
HIV/AIDS Research Group (Head)
Ms. Marienella Galit
Program Support and Quality Management (Head), NTRL
Mr. Dodge Lim, RN
Policy and Research Unit (Head), NTRL
Mr. Lorenzo Reyes, RMT
Laboratory Services Unit (Quality Assurance) , NTRL
Dr. Arthur Dessi Roman
Medical Department
Ms. Alma Palparan, RMT
Laboratory Services Unit (Molecular Biology/Research) , NTRL
Ms. Cristina Villarico, RMT
Laboratory Services Unit (Head) , NTRL