New chemical safety committee formalized

In photo: Chemical safety committee members with Merck Quality Solutions staff.

The newly-formed RITM Chemical Safety Committee was officially introduced at the Laboratory Safety Seminar held on May 31, 2019 at the RITM Auditorium.

According to Chemical Safety Committee Chairman Estrella Getalado, the committee was created to ensure safety in the use and disposal of chemicals. Consequently, it hopes to“formulate [for RITM] emergency plans, policies, and guidelines to respond to […] chemical spill[s] and hazards.” The committee is keen on establishing an inventory and documentation system of chemicals and chemical waste disposal as well.

The Chemical Safety Committee is headed by Getalado and vice chairperson Rebecca Notorio and consists of members Johnson Yu, Loida Oliquino, Monaliza Victoria, Erminia Torio, Agnettah Olorosa, Holly Grace Orlina, Dave Tangcalagan, Engr. Manuel Lanuza, Chari Jane Rosales, and Greggy Quiocho.

The laboratory safety seminar themed “Safe Handling of All Reagents as an Environmental Support (SHARES)” tackled such as microbiology and environmental monitoring, water quality for laboratory application, and cell culture and proteomics.

The event was sponsored by science and technology company Merck Quality Solutions.

by Eunice Brito, Project Matyag, Research Assistant